Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
French Equivalent: CITI

ISIC is the United Nations International Standard Industrial Classification of All Economic Activities. This classification is the international standard for the classification of productive economic activities. The main purpose is to provide a standard set of economic activities so that entities can be classified according to the activity they carry out.

The hierarchical structure of the classification comprises: - Tabulation Categories – one letter alpha code A to Q; - Divisions – two-digit codes; - Groups – three-digit codes; - Classes – four-digit codes The third revision of ISIC is used in the 1993 SNA.

The current version of ISIC (ISIC Rev.4) was approved by the United Nations Statistics Commission (UNSC) in 2006 and has been posted on the United Nations Statistical Division's website.

Source Publication:
International Standard Industrial Classification of all Economic Activities, Rev. 3, United Nations, New York, 1990, Statistical Papers Series M, No. 4 Rev. 3.


Classification Indicator: Classification

Statistical Theme: Classifications

Created on Tuesday, September 25, 2001

Last updated on Monday, July 23, 2007