Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
Copenhagen criteria refers to the overall criteria which applicant countries (to the European Union (EU)) have to meet as a prerequisite for becoming members of the European Union were defined in general terms by the Copenhagen European Council in June 1993.

The Copenhagen criteria require (i) the stability of institutions guaranteeing democracy, the rule of law, human rights, and the respect for and protection of minorities; (ii) the existence of a functioning market economy as well as the capacity to cope with competitive pressure and market forces within the EU; and (iii) the ability to take on the obligations of membership, including adherence to the aims of political unification as well as Economic and Monetary Union (EMU).

Source Publication:
European Central Bank Annual Report.


Statistical Theme: Methodological information (metadata)

Created on Tuesday, November 13, 2001

Last updated on Tuesday, June 11, 2013