Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
The Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA) is an agreement originally signed by the countries of the Visegrad group (the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and the Slovak Republic) on 21 December 1992 and effective since July 1994. Later on Slovenia (1996), Romania (1997) and Bulgaria (1999), Croatia (2003) joined CEFTA. When those countries became members of the EU they subsequently left the CEFTA.

CEFTA 2006 agreement replaced all the bilateral agreements which until then had been in force between the signatory countries - Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Croatia, Macedonia, Moldova, Serbia and UNMIK / Kosovo. The Agreement contains provisions relating to trade in industrial and agricultural products, technical barriers to trade, rules of origin and customs cooperation and the new trade issues such as strengthening cooperation in trade in services, investment, public procurement and intellectual property rights.

Source Publication:
Agricultural Policies in OECD Countries: Monitoring and Evaluation 2000: Glossary of Agricultural Policy Terms, OECD
CEFTA Trade Portal, website [latest update: 2010].


Statistical Theme: Non-member economies

Created on Tuesday, September 25, 2001

Last updated on Monday, April 8, 2013