Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
The European Commission (Commission of the European Communities) is the institution of the European Community which ensures the application of the provisions of the Treaty. The Commission develops Community policies, proposes Community legislation and exercises powers in specific areas.

In the area of economic policy, the Commission recommends broad guidelines for economic policies in the Community and reports to the European Union Council on economic developments and policies. It monitors public finances within the framework of multilateral surveillance and submits reports to the Council.

It consists of 25 members, one from each of the Member States.

Source Publication:
European Commission website.

Statistical Theme: Methodological information (metadata)

Created on Tuesday, November 13, 2001

Last updated on Friday, December 2, 2005