Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
Tertiary-type A programmes (ISCED 5A) are largely theory-based and are designed to provide sufficient qualifications for entry to advanced research programmes and professions with high skill requirements, such as medicine, dentistry or architecture.

Tertiary-type A programmes have a minimum cumulative theoretical duration (at tertiary level) of three years’ full-time equivalent, although they typically last four or more years.

These programmes are not exclusively offered at universities.

Conversely, not all programmes nationally recognised as university programmes fulfil the criteria to be classified as tertiary-type A. Tertiary-type A programmes include second degree programmes like the American Master.

First and second programmes are sub-classified by the cumulative duration of the programmes, i.e., the total study time needed at the tertiary level to complete the degree.

Source Publication:
Education at a Glance, OECD, Paris, 2002, Glossary

Cross References:
International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED).
Tertiary-type B education (ISCED 5B)

Statistical Theme: Education and training statistics

Created on Thursday, January 30, 2003

Last updated on Friday, March 14, 2003