Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
The Development Assistance Committee (DAC) is one of the key forums in which the major bilateral donors work together to increase the effectiveness of their common efforts to support sustainable development.

The DAC concentrates on how international development co-operation contributes to the capacity of developing countries to participate in the global economy and the capacity of people to overcome poverty and participate fully in their societies.

The DAC Chairman presides over DAC meetings, attended by Paris-based delegates of Member countries and by officials from capitals.

The Committee holds an annual High Level Meeting in which participants are ministers or heads of aid agencies.

The work of the DAC is supported by the Development Co-operation Directorate, (DCD), one of some dozen directorates in the OECD. The DCD is often referred to as the DAC Secretariat because of this key function.

Members of the DAC are expected to have certain common objectives concerning the conduct of their aid programmes. To this end, guidelines have been prepared for development practitioners in capitals and in the field.

The DAC Members are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, the United States and the Commission of the European Communities.

Source Publication:
Development Cooperation website.


Statistical Theme: Financial statistics

Created on Tuesday, September 25, 2001

Last updated on Monday, March 3, 2003