Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
A country is deemed to be a candidate country when, having examined its application for EU membership, the EU Council formally recognises the country as candidate, thus granting the country candidate status.

There are currently (at March 2013) five candidate countries for entry to the European Union: Iceland, Montenegro, Serbia, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey.

Source Publication:
European Commission, Economic and Financial Affairs, website [latest update: 2012] + ec.europa.eu.

Cross References:
European Union


Statistical Theme: Methodological information (metadata)

Created on Thursday, July 7, 2005

Last updated on Friday, June 14, 2013