Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
The European Agricultural Guidance and Guarantee Fund (EAGGF) was a fund within the overall European Union budget for the financing of the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP).

On 1 January 2007 the EAGGF was replaced by the European Agricultural Guarantee Fund (EAGF) and the European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD).

It had two sections: the EAGGF Guarantee section and the EAGGF Guidance section. The EAGGF Guarantee financed the expenditure of the common organisations of the market (the measures intended to regularise the agricultural markets and the refunds for exports to third countries).

Depending on the products, the operations eventually took the form of intervention prices, production aid or premiums, compensatory aid for withdrawal of products from the market or storage aid.

It also provided the financing for non-Objective 1 rural development activities, with the exception of the EU rural development initiative (LEADER PLUS), specific veterinary measures, plant health measures and information campaigns relating to CAP. With Agenda 2000, the EAGGF Guarantee Section had become almost the only source of funding for agricultural expenditure.

The EAGGF Guidance Section financed rural development measures covered by activities under Objective 1 and the EU rural development initiative (LEADER PLUS). The EAGGF fund was often referred to by its French abbreviation FEOGA.

Source Publication:
Agricultural Policies in OECD Countries: Monitoring and Evaluation 2000: Glossary of Agricultural Policy Terms, OECD
EuroVoc 2007.

Cross References:
Common Agricultural Policy (CAP)


Statistical Theme: Agriculture and fisheries statistics - Agricultural policy indicators

Created on Tuesday, September 25, 2001

Last updated on Monday, June 10, 2013