Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
The European Parliament consists of 730 representatives (as at 1 July 2005) of the citizens of the Member States. It is a part of the legislative process, although with different prerogatives according to the procedures through which EU law is to be enacted.

In the framework of Economic and Monetary Union (EMU), the Parliament has mainly consultative powers. However, the Treaty establishes certain procedures for the democratic accountability of the European Central Bank (ECB) to the Parliament (presentation of the annual report, general debate on the monetary policy, hearings before the competent parliamentary committees).

Source Publication:
European Central Bank Annual Report.


Statistical Theme: Methodological information (metadata)

Created on Tuesday, November 13, 2001

Last updated on Tuesday, June 11, 2013