Go to Statistics Portal


Statistics Directorate    
French Equivalent: Espace économique européen (EEE)

The European Economic Area (EEA) is an agreement which entered into force on 1 January 1994 that links Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein to the European Union Internal Market through the creation of a “European Economic Area”.

Within the EEA, uniform rules regarding the four freedoms, competition, state-aid and public procurement apply.

The relevant Community legislation for the Internal Market and the EEA-specific adaptations are integrated into the 22 Annexes and 48 Protocols to the EEA Agreement and subsequently transposed into national legislation of the three European Free Trade Association (EFTA) States. These Annexes and Protocols are constantly updated as relevant new or amended European Union legislation is adopted.

Source Publication:
Agricultural Policies in OECD Countries: Monitoring and Evaluation 2000: Glossary of Agricultural Policy Terms, OECD.

Statistical Theme: Methodological information (metadata)

Created on Tuesday, September 25, 2001

Last updated on Tuesday, March 4, 2003